A study on How to Effectively Build Sand Castles in air

Snippets might be missing; hinted by the lack of flow in the writer’s thoughts. Decoherence rules this material world.

27th July 2016

Let us throw all the complicated “bull-shit” out of the window. In fact I can provide you with a “jembe” (a Swahili word whose English equivalent I have willfully forgotten at the moment) to take it all out because we have built a lot of crap we have no flying idea about in our “important lives.”

I am officially conducting a naming ceremony for Science. It should be called  “A Study on How To Effectively Build Castles In The Air.” Here is why I think so:

  1. Physicists start with the famous line we all started with when we set out to pompously write our answers in exams; “let us assume”. I always found it pointless and unmotivating to continue after beginning on that note.  In school I was an idealist who fought vehemently against assuming but now I could not care any less. 
  2. Biologists study animal models to understand a human being! I have a lab rat and because I have found out this is how a certain X pathway functions, I will apply this “so called knowledge I have” to design a drug and help mankind in his endless endeavors to find a cure for diseases.
  3. Statisticians consider a hypothesis to be correct if it is statistically significant. They are the true culprits and should be charged with gross discrimination. They forget the minority and bully them in some corner with a star or a dot  forgetting to take them into account when interpreting data for the sake of convenience. Such lazy arses. I am one of them.

Before I set out to even try to understand what transcription is and how nerve cells conduct impulses I think I need to get the answer to a question I had back in school.

Why is the square root of 2, an irrational number? My teacher could never give me a satisfactory answer and as time flew by, I became more stupid. I forgot to ask questions and/or avoided thinking when they did crop up. It seemed easier to slip them all under the rug.

Anyone who knows me well enough admits I am a huge lover/hater of Math who foolishly took Biology because I fell for it passionately for a brief period of time. As a rule of life I harbour no regrets though. Life is like a drunkard’s walk. We make random choices and fall but we get up and walk again with the same stupor. We still reach where we need to. You will notice as you read this (good luck doing so) that my thoughts are scattered and I seem to have no flow in this piece. I refuse to structure and order it. “Let it flow”. Chaos and randomness is how this universe works anyway. Or so I am led to believe. I need to take this moment; pause, reflect and laugh. What would I know about the universe? A note to a few readers I have managed to hoodwink to read this piece of crap. Do not believe anything I say. I know absolutely nothing.

I am currently doing a Masters in Biology but I had to google what the difference was between a neuron, nerve fibre, nerve and a neuro-fibril.

I have always been an absurdist. I constantly questioned everything I “seemed to know” and arrived at the same conclusion. I knew absolutely nothing. With time this feeling has exponentially increased and at the moment an unknown measuring device has captured and recorded peak values of distress and stupidity waves oscillating in my brain’s electromagnetic field.

This leads me to the next question. What does this electromagnetic field in the brain do? It is claimed to be just there due to generation of electrical impulses and it seems to be just a bystander (like a by-product in a chemical reaction that is produced but has no role in the reaction). But what if it plays some significant role?

My turn to build a majestic castle.

The brain is a funny organ. Is it an organ? Can I call it an organ? I might be wrong.

Let me rephrase. The brain is a funny thing.

Let us take this moment (or a lifetime) to “think” about how exactly we think.

I look at titan showroom and my mind wavers to a memory of my father buying my first watch, followed by a string of unrelated thoughts. Titan showroom leads up to cricket somehow and before you know it I am thinking about dark chocolate ice cream and my mouth salivates because the brain decided (I decided or the brain decided? Is there a difference?) I need a reward. Selfish bastard.

What unifies all these thoughts into a single moment of your life? How does this funny thing manage to conduct such an AMAZING feat?

A lot of small pieces of information encoded in different regions of the brain and arising from different sensory regions congregate to form an idea, a notion or a clear concise thought (in my case, a fuzzy one) and to add to the complication, this idea/thought has to keep evolving every split of a split second.

When I watched “Finding Nemo” back in school, a lot of information such as the words, colours, textures and other random thoughts/memories/questions came together all at once, like  a hurricane descending upon you, and kept changing. How did all of that come together? They were fired electrically by separate nerves/neurons and they somehow fused together at their destination. How does an idea form? My roommate, Sneha, would probably exclaim, “what sorcery is this?” Note: I still have doubts about the difference between a nerve and a neuron and you are still reading this piece. You must be more foolish than I am. 

Some unknown measuring device is capturing a private thought in my brain (a note on this later in bold).

My private thought: I propose that this field created by electrical impulses could be a by-product but it also plays an important role in Unifying everything. It is the One that gives birth to an idea. It makes One see the “bigger picture”.

But I propose a lot of crap. I am an absurdist.

Note: The biggest flaw is the act of measuring. By interrupting the private “lives’ of whatever you are trying to observe you alter what it does. A mere act of observing and measuring changes the phenomenon (at least in quantum physics) as opposed to when you do not observe. But how would you know anything for that matter if you did not observe it in the first place?

If I have not yet disappointed you enough, here is the real kicker in the nuts. Question what you are reading right now. Your brain could also be defined as a sort of measuring device. The act of reading and trying to understand this piece might disrupt and alter these Holy Words and there might be a discrepancy between what you read and what you think you are reading. Imagine the Horror if that statement were true. It makes you question everything that you think you know over all these years of fine learning! Now you have to deal with  a severe case of the “Doubt Syndrome” like I do.

Let me get back to the question I had in school. Why is the square root of 2, an irrational number?

Let us believe it is a rational number. Some incredibly brilliant chap opposes its irrationality and proposes a hypothesis whereby he firmly believes it is rational. He needs to prove it.

In order to prove a hypothesis, you need to prove certain other facts. If they stand true the hypothesis is true. No one looks at the bright shining light from a torch directly. Everyone looks for the faint shimmer. If they spot it they conclude that the light is indeed from a torch even though no one saw the latter. It could have easily been from a blazing old fashioned bonfire.

Hypothesis: The square root of two is rational

Certain other facts: For a number to be rational it has to be expressed as a fraction, x/y where x and y are whole numbers written in the lowest terms. The lowest terms simply means that there is no common factor between x and y. I cannot divide it any further (I shall write another absurd article where I will talk about the “sense and sensibility” of division and proportions).

For instance 8/18 have a common factor of 2 but when you divide, you obtain 4/9 which is the same value expressed earlier, but now it is in its lowest terms.

In this scenario I used a subtle example that involves a big white flash of light without the flashlight in sight so as to not completely discredit the entire methodology adopted in research but I shall have my day! There will be a shimmer of light at the end of the tunnel!

The big white light with no torch in sight: For a number to be irrational x and y should certainly not be even. All even number have a common factor of two.

Statement: Square root of 2 = x/y

By squaring both sides you get 2 = x^2/y^2

The answer is blatantly staring at you but your funny thing refuses to see it.

x^2 can be expressed as 2*y^2.  It is therefore a multiple of 2 so it has to be an even number. I really hope your funny thing does not require me to state explicitly that the same applies to y^2.

The brilliant chap who thought square root of 2 is rational may not be wrong but he needs to prove he is right.

If you do not observe something, it does not mean that it ceases to exist or is untrue.

You might be obliterating the existence of something crucial.

A final word of advice to the Brilliant chap: Continue trying to prove that the square root of 2 is a rational number. I shall fund your absurd idea with my imaginary cash.

Leave a Reply

